While I was in San Francisco for the PRSSA conference Nike had their famous women’s marathon. This yearly race benefits the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, and makes it a very personal effort to the runners. One thing that stood out to me as I walked through Union Square was a simple yet striking thing that Nike did. They covered their windows with purple and you wouldn’t think much of it, but as you walk closer you see names. Then in that moment I saw some women go up and point while another took their picture it hit me. They were pointing at their names! I went inside and asked about it and every single runner had their name on it.

What a simple yet striking thing that many other businesses could learn from. The more that people feel involved in the companies they do business with the more good will those businesses get. The era of impersonal is over and if businesses don’t do an honest effort trying to build relationships then they face a bleak future.

